Some quote’s about writing

I can’t sleep so here are some of my favorite writing quotes:

I never know what I think about something until I read what I’ve written on it.

-William Faulkner

William Faulkner

There’s nothing to writing.  All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.

-Walter Wellesley

You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.

-Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury

The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say.

-Annais Nin

Annias Nin

I try to leave out the parts that people skip.

-Elmore Leonard

Elmore Leonard

The time to begin writing an article is when you have finished it to your satisfaction.  By that time you begin to clearly and logically perceive what it is you want to say.

-Mark Twain

Mark Twain

The story I am writing exists, written in absolutely perfect fashion, some place, in the air.  All I must do is find it, and copy it.

-Jules Renard

A writer is someone who can make a riddle out of an answer.

-Karl Kraus

Storytelling reveals meaning without committing the error of defining it.

-Hannah Arendt

As to the adjective, when in doubt, strike it out.

-Mark Twain

Keep a diary and one day it will keep you.

-Mae West

Mae West

One must be drenched in words, literally soaked in them, to have the right ones form themselves into the proper pattern at the right moment.

-Hart Crane

Writing is the product of silence.

-Carrie Latet

Books want to be born; I never make them.  They come to me and insist on being written, and on being such and such.

-Sam Butler

The most essential gift for a good writer is a built-in shock proof shit detector.

-Hemingway

Hemingway

The best style is the one you don’t notice.

-Maugham

I want to write books that unlock the traffic jam in everyone’s head.

-Updike

I want to make a quote about writing but I think they’re all taken.

-Melanie

Melanie

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

