My wages

Let’s put my wages into perspective, shall we?

I make $15 for each massage that I give. 

My place of employment charges $98 for a one hour massage ($60 for members).  I make 15% of what they make, 25% when the client is a member.

Let’s say I give 4 massages for $98 a pop, that’s $392.  At $15 a massage, I make $60.  After massaging 4 people, I still can’t afford a massage.  I would need to massage for 6.5 hours before earning myself a one hour massage.  And technically I still can’t afford a massage because taxes are taken out of my pay and I would need to leave a tip of at least $15.  So I need to massage 8 people – 8 people before I can afford one massage!

Now let’s talk about tips.  Tip’s are a gesture of gratitude.

I like to associate tips with McDonalds cheeseburgers or starbucks latte’s.  If a client leaves me $5, she’s saying that my massage was equal to enjoying one starbucks latte, or 5 cheeseburgers from the dollar menu at McDonalds.

If they leave me $20, I can buy two movie tickets.  Or a pack of smokes and a movie ticket.  Or 5 cheeseburgers, a pack of smokes and a starbucks latte – not bad for one hour of work.

I know it doesn’t seem like a lot, but all I have to do when I’m here is massage and nothing else.  I worry about NOTHING.  No washing or folding sheets, no scheduling crap.  And the overhead fee’s to run the place are incredible I can imagine.  All in all, I say my wages are fair.  They allow a bit of room for pay advancements.  If they weren’t fair, I would’ve quit a long time ago.

I came into work today and right away I’m greeted with a pay raise.  I’m not suppose to tell anyone how much it is, but it’s a little something.

It’s my feng shui – my prosperity corner is taking effect.  It’s so weird because I did nothing to provoke a raise.  The thought ran through my mind as I added some purple to my corner, but I didn’t dwell on it.  Crazy it may actually work.

So I’m happy.  My last client was strange, but I’m happy.

I’m on my couch sipping, no, chugging my latte.  I have three more clients.

One of my co-workers was talking about Dickens’ Cider today.  It’s the first I ever heard of it.  It’s an apple cider energy drink.  I looked it up online and there’s a funny commercial for it.

Leave a comment

Filed under All about me, Massage therapy, video's

Leave a Reply

