Lost post

Massage in Frankfurt, Germany

Image via Wikipedia

I found this unpublished post in my draft folder.  I wrote it last week:

It’s midnight and I’m laying in bed reading “The Road Less Traveled.”  No, I am not done reading it yet.  I know it’s been a while since I started it, but I’m really letting it sink in.  And I read slow. 

I’m super tired – I could sleep right now.   I just put 10 ear drops in my left ear because something awful is cooking up inside there, but you don’t need to know about that.  Just be aware that I have little green men pounding on my eardrum and I’m not exactly sure what they’re capable of.

This book is really something.  It’s telling me things that I already knew, I just forgot I knew – or things that were too cloudy to see properly because there’s too much debris floating around in my head (thanks to the little green men).

Okay, I know how this is going to sound, but I’m just going to say it – I send out loving energy to my clients when I massage them.  Despite the times when I find it unbearable to give a massage, as long as I keep the intention of pure, genuine love for the client, the massage turns into something spectacular every single time.  My body moves without me telling it where to move.

“The Road Less Traveled” says that all therapy must be backed with love in order for it to be successful – ALL therapy.  He broadens the term ‘therapy’ to include small stuff like friendly, honest conversation.  I love mostly everyone, so this isn’t much of a stretch. 

When I meet a client who looks like no one touched them in a really long time, someone who can be overlooked, taken for granted – when I massage these people, even just the slightest touch can bring a huge smile to their face that they have no hope at concealing – and at the end of the massage, they start laughing.  They start laughing for no apparent reason other than they’re happy.  They’re happy because for just that one brief hour, a complete stranger was able to love and appreciate them. 

It’s truly amazing – and it brings me awe when I witness it.  Okay, so maybe I do secretly love my job, that doesn’t make me married to it.  But I am learning from it, and it’s broadening my heart. 

I can make people fall asleep.  I can make most people fall asleep just by sending out the intention.  On days when I’m exhausted and can’t exert my full-fledging love, I give what I call the “sleeper” massage.  This massage has a 90% success rate of putting people to sleep.  They fall asleep within minutes, sometime seconds after I decide to put them to sleep.  It’s really amazing.

Sometimes I mix the two modes of intention, starting with love in the beginning, then I put them to sleep, then I wrap it up with more warmth and love while I massage their neck and head.  The tips are great when I do this.

I don’t send out these intentions when I massage friends – I’m not sure why that is.  Maybe they know that I love them already.  And I don’t feel like sending out more love if I don’t have to.  Truthfully, it can be tiring.

1 Comment

Filed under Massage therapy

One response to “Lost post

  1. Very cool. We need some sleep intentions in this house, though. Four little people on a sleep strike. But, yes, it’s all about the love. Always about the love 🙂

Leave a Reply

