Trekking the Himilayas for a month? Sure, why not.

I worry about me sometimes.  I worry about being too content with myself.  I mean, I don’t want to get married, I don’t want kids, I have little desire to buy my own place (maybe the desire would be there if I had more money but I don’t, so it’s not).

I like staying in.  I’m content with reading a book or playing video game’s…  A woman of 32 isn’t supposed to be like this!!  I’m like an android of mediocrity.

I just don’t want anything – period.  Well, I don’t care to possess anything is more like it.  I want to possess knowledge and experience and that’s it.  And those possessions I can take anywhere without feeling bogged down and overwhelmed with responsibilities.

Okay, so here is a rundown of my current situation:  I’ve managed to save $3,000 in the bank.  What’s my next move?

I can…..

A)  Pay off the remaining $3,500 of my debt.

B)  Finally buy my dream laptop – the Imac Pro.

C)  Start my “Air Touch rejuvenation” business and buy the $2,000 oxygen bar that I need.

D)  Put a down payment on a new car because my car is being held together by plastic zip-tie’s.  Well, the sway bar is held up with a plastic zip-tie.  A zip-tie is the only thing stopping my car from swaying out of control.

E)  Or I can fuck all the above and go to Nepal.

Umm, okay, being that the only two things I wish to possess in this life are knowledge and experience (forget that I mentioned the Imac Pro), than my choice is obvious.  Nepal it is!

I base all my decisions on death-bed Melanie.  I imagine that I’m laying on my death-bed and looking back on the choices I made.  Which one would I regret not taking?  If my death-bed is made for me in Nepal than I no doubt would have wished I paid off my debt instead, but life’s a bitch like that.

What I’ll be actually doing in Nepal is where the real craziness lies.

Kristina wants to trek the Annapurna Circuit.  It’s a 150 mile loop that takes approximately 20 days to accomplish.  In the Himalayas!  Or as Brad Pitt would say, “the Hima-LIE-yas.”

Omg I LOVE Brad Pitt!  I hate Angelina.  Okay I don’t hate her, but dislike her a lot.  Is it pathetic that that clip can still make me teary eyed?

Anyway, back to the 20 day trek, I never cared for camping or sleeping outside.  I never technically had to “rough it”.  And here I am signing myself up for the possibility of massive traveler’s diarrhea and shitting in a shit splattered hole in the ground in the middle of cold snow-covered nowhere for 20 days.  Ha ha.  It’s funny now, but won’t be later.  Is it funny now or is that nervous laughter?

There have been casualties on this trek.  I can get mountain sickness and die of cerebral edema.

Anyway, shit yo.  I’m doing it.  Fuck Yeah!  High emotion’s and high risk equal strong words.  Fuck! Shit!  What am I doing!?

I’m in relatively good shape.  I don’t exercise much, but my job keeps my legs and arms well maintained.  I’m 5′ 6″, 128 pounds – leg’s built for stamina, not speed.  For a 32-year-old booze hound lay-a-bout bar fly, I’m in ship-shape.  I can’t run farther than a mile, but who can these days and who really wants to?

I’m certain that I’m in good physical condition for this.  I have the money, no restraints keeping me from going and how often does a Himalayan trek fall into my lap?  In the future I can always go to the more well-acquainted tourist places that dumb American’s like to venture without fear of the unknown – but for now, in my condition, anything goes!  And majestic high-altitude places are well worth the risk.

I’m watching Naruto.  It’s a japanese cartoon.  I can watch rerun’s of How I Met Your Mother (I’ve never watched them) on Netflix, but no.  Instead I’m watching 220 episodes of a japanese cartoon.

My first Japanese cartoon was Mushi-shi, than I watched Claymore, and now this.  Once you start watching these cartoons, your brain doesn’t view life the same way.  It’s changes perspective.  It’s like a drug.

And now for your moment of zen, here are the lyric’s for Naruto’s theme song.

We are Fighting Dreamers, aiming high Fighting Dreamers, not caring about appearances Fighting Dreamers, because we believe Oli Oli Oli Oh-! Just go my way!

Right here Right now (Bang!) Fire like a bullet LINER! Right here Right now (Burn!) Finish it off Get the fire!

At the middle of a grim fighting road, we up man’s map; where do we go? The plant-eating crow plunders that and escapes

Now, the eye of the heart only opens to make sure of the present! (Yeah!) There is nothing lost, so let’s turn back!

We are Fighting Dreamers, aiming high Fighting Dreamers, not caring about appearances Fighting Dreamers, because we believe Oli Oli Oli Oh-! Just go my way!

Right here Right now (Bang!) Fire like a bullet LINER! Right here Right now (Burn!)

The creeping soundless shadow always puzzles us The big short burst of wind increases the swell as it blows over

The sharp raised blade cuts open my tomorrow! (Yeah!) Whatever the guarantee, its not anywhere it seems!?

We are Fighting Dreamers, aiming high Fighting Dreamers, not caring about appearances Fighting Dreamers, because we believe Oli Oli Oli Oh-! Just go my way!

Right here Right now (Bang!) Fire like a bullet LINER! Right here Right now (Burn!) Finish it off Get the fire! Right here Right now (Bang!) Fire like a bullet LINER! Right here Right now (Burn!) Finish it off Get the fire!

We are Fighting Dreamers, with these best friends Fighting Dreamers, swallowing up everything Fighting Dreamers, with high ambitions Oli Oli Oli Oh-! Just go my way!

That’s not the whole thing, but you get the idea.

10 Comments

Filed under journal

10 responses to “Trekking the Himilayas for a month? Sure, why not.

  1. What an amazing journey it will be!

  2. Steph

    Be safe Mel!! 🙂

  3. Kali!

    “For a 32-year-old booze hound lay-a-bout bar fly, I’m in ship-shape. I can’t run farther than a mile, but who can these days and who really wants to?”- YES. some of my favorite words youve written haha

    can i come on your next adventure please???

  4. Holly

    Are you really going to tell your mom that you’re going to go to Canada for a month? What are you going to tell her you’re going to do there? Hysterical!!

    • My dad already knows where I’m going so I’ll have to tell her the truth. I’ll say I’m living with the Buddhist monks for a month. That’s pretty close to the truth.
      She’ll get to brag to everyone. she might like bragging about me for a change 🙂

  5. Pingback: My dysfunctional preparation for the Annapurna Circuit | melanie's blog

  6. Pingback: What I’m bringing to the Annapurna Circuit | melanie's blog

  7. Pingback: This is my daughter Melanie, she’s 384 months old……. | melanie's blog

  8. Pingback: Enduring the High’s and Low’s of the Annapurna Circut – Melanie Style | melanie's blog

Leave a comment